The Bright Coast

Progressive Thoughts from San Diego Alums on Law, Politics, and Culture

The Dangers of Law School

Posted by demkid on May 1, 2009

The following is a message from our Dean.  Apparently, a student (presumably an undergrad) recently tested positive for Influenza A here on campus, although it has yet to be determined if this is the dreaded Swine Flu. 

 

Dear student,

We have received several questions from students about the status of final exams and commencement activities in light of the recent news about a suspected case of H1N1 (Swine Influenza A) on campus.  At this point, exams and commencement activities will proceed as scheduled.  However, we are developing a contingency plan so that exams may continue in the event that we are instructed by the University to close the campus.  Please check the H1N1 information site on a regular basis for the latest information and other important links.  In the meantime, hand sanitizer will be available throughout the law school and the LRC.  Furthermore, if it would make you feel more comfortable, this year you can bring personal hand sanitizer into examination rooms and wear a mask.  Please visit Center for Disease Control H1N1 for more information about H1N1 and tips on how to stay healthy.  It is our first priority is to ensure you can complete your coursework in a safe, healthy environment.  If you have any questions or concerns, JD students should contact Dean Carrie Wilson and LL.M. students should contact Dean Teresa O’Rourke.

Sincerely,

Dean Kevin Cole

 

I really don’t have a lot to say about this message, as I think it speaks for itself.  However, I’m just so, so glad that our administration is looking out for us in these seriously troubling times!  I do wonder what the “contingency plan” is.  How will it be safer taking an exam at X location, rather than at the law school?  Will I get to take my finals out on a boat, or something?  That would kick ass.  Additionally, I’m sure a last minute change in the location of exams would go off without a hitch!  In any case, thanks, Dean Cole, for sending out this message!  I’m now completely scared for my life and I don’t know how I’ll be able to muster up the courage to step foot in Warren Hall next week.  Good thing I’ll be bringing in a 200 ounce jar of Purell and will look like this!

I'm Ready to Take my Final, Now!

I'm Ready to Take my Final, Now!

Leave a Reply

 
