The Bright Coast

Progressive Thoughts from San Diego Alums on Law, Politics, and Culture

Local CC Chancellor Tapped for Undersecretary of Education

Posted by brightcoast on April 15, 2009

I first learned of this news through my grandmother who worked at Foothill for over 30 years (where both of my parents also attended in their younger years. I must say I am surprised that the new administration is tapping people who are making a difference in their local community. Although the Foothill-De Anza district is probably one of the larger CC districts in the area in terms of the programs they offer and students they serve (in fact, their soccer teams were our rivals), I can’t say that I perceive it to be clearly more visible on the national scale than I would imagine CC districts in the larger metropolitan cities the country. Nonetheless, I know the power of local activism and vision, and I am incredibly excited to see people like Ms. Kanter in the office. Plus, my grandmother approves.

Leave a Reply

 
